First Run

Just starting out with Get Running? Chat about the basics of running, what clothes to wear, where to run... anything you like!
NurseJo

First Run

Post by NurseJo »

Hi I've given my head a wobble and just braved my first run. I only managed 4 out of the 8 runs coz my legs were in agony.
I'll try again on Wednesday.
In the mean time could anyone give me some good advise. I am 4 stone overweight and not in the best of health but I'm determined to lose the weight and get fit.
Thankyou
Jo x
Tinydancer83

Re: First Run

Post by Tinydancer83 »

Hi Jo- how did you get on? Did you stick to the plan? If so has it helped you to lose weight?

I did my first run yesterday and was really struggling from half way through. I managed to see it through to the end (despite a weird neck pain which I think was from my jagged breathing) and did the cool down and some stretches so I feel ok today.

I'm 30 yr old woman, 2st overweight and I quit smoking 4 weeks ago. I'm new to running and have never really been one for any exercise.

Interested to hear from anyone who started at my low level of fitness, if they have persevered and how they are feeling now. :)

Thanks!
Fragglerock

Post by Fragglerock »

Hi Tinydancer

I am a bit older than you (43) and have just got into this after following a weight loss programme. I lost about two stone in weight and focused on trying to keep my weight stable and "in control". I have an underactive thyroid which means I can look at a chocolate bar and put on a stone!