6 foot 6, 240lbs, walking a bit in 25 min run

Just starting out with Get Running? Chat about the basics of running, what clothes to wear, where to run... anything you like!
Adrule

6 foot 6, 240lbs, walking a bit in 25 min run

Post by Adrule »

I'm new to running and love the Get Running app! I never thought I could do it. I've always been active and athletic playing basketball, tennis and romping around with my kids.

I made it through the first 20 minute run without stopping but during the 25 minute runs I find myself having to walk for 30-45 secs to get through it.

My knees and shins hurt for the first month but now they're acclimated.

Anyone else have this problem/issue?

I put my height and weight there thinking it may be a tall person thing.
Dredemer

Re: 6 foot 6, 240lbs, walking a bit in 25 min run

Post by Dredemer »

Hi Adrule,

Im only on the 2nd week, so I can't comment on the longer runs, but would like to hear about your knee/shin pain and how it went away.

I am having pain at the top of both tibias below the kneecap, on the inside part of the leg. Was your pain in that area?

I ask because Im going to see a doctor tomorrow to make sure Im not doing any significant damage, but me knees themselves feel strong, just fatigued. I am also 6'3" 220lbs and hope the pain is just from the impact and newness of running as opposed to something more severe.

Anyway it sounds like your doing great and im sure 25 min will happen in the next run or two.

Dave
Adrule

Post by Adrule »

Dave - thanks for the reply.