Weight loss

Just starting out with Get Running? Chat about the basics of running, what clothes to wear, where to run... anything you like!
JebaliciousEmt

Weight loss

Post by JebaliciousEmt »

Hi, I'm new here, so if this topic has been addressed before I'm sorry for beating a dead horse. But to the point: I am a 20 y/o student and I am an emt. At work I have to eat what I can when I can due to the hectic nature of my job, so eating healthy is mostly out if the picture. I try to make healthy choices and pack my lunch when I attend classes but it doesn't really make a difference. I've read mixed reviews on the successfulness of this program as a weight loss tool, so I came to the source. What have you guys and gals seen in the way of weight loss from completing the program? I have never been much of a runner, i did weight training in highschool and some mixed martial arts, but due to a shoulder injury that's out of the picture now. I weighed in at 265 at 6' 2" w/o clothes tonight. I am hoping to see the loss of around 20 lbs before the end of the program. Is this too optimistic? Oh, I start day one tomorrow by the way. Thanks for reading. All comments are appreciated.
Stephlperry76

Re: Weight loss

Post by Stephlperry76 »

I am on week 4 and I have lost 1 pound. From the reading I've done (and I have dropped 27 pounds on my own recently before starting the app)....weight loss is 80% eating and 20% exercise. I know your schedule sounds crazy. Mine is too. I'm a teacher and having time to eat is not always available. But, the advice I can give is to try your best to make time. You and your health are worth it. Journal your food. When you write it down, it makes you evaluate it. Try http://www.livestrong.com and look for myplate. It is free and it helps me to keep track of my eating. Good luck!
Petra

Post by Petra »