Second attempt...

Just starting out with Get Running? Chat about the basics of running, what clothes to wear, where to run... anything you like!
rob_5

Second attempt...

Post by rob_5 »

Hi (again).

I started the program in January but stopped during week 3.
Was finding it really tough and the weather was terrible.

I started again last week and tomorrow I start week 2.
Im determined to go all the way this time and complete the 9 weeks.

Its great reading how everyone is getting on.

Rob
Biscuit-Breath

Re: Second attempt...

Post by Biscuit-Breath »

Hi!

Great to hear you are attempting it again!

Just get out there and have fun!!! The good weather will help motivate you!

Good luck on your C25K journey xx

:D
missyf

Post by missyf »

Hi Rob

Keep going!

I graduated a couple of years ago and was running 5k (very slowly). I sprained my ankle and got out of the habit and never ran again. I'm back on the program and up to week 3. I am definitely not designed for running and I managed it - so you can do it!

You have to keep telling yourself to 'keep going'. I literally do this about once a minute! Think about why you are doing this - the 'keep going' is the end of a very sad story for me, but you might be able to find another phrase to keep you motivated. My friend rows and somewhere on her boat she has a note that says 'what the mind believes the body achieves'. I tell myself that, too! I recently did the Race For Life and at one point I thought I would just give up and walk the rest of the way. There was a man standing on the corner and he looked me right in the eye and said 'keep going love'. I nearly burst into tears - it was just what I needed!

I'm dreading moving on to week 4 because I can't face running 5 minutes, so I'm doing week 3 again. If you keep going I promise I will too!

Marie
rob_5

Post by rob_5 »

Hi Marie.

Wow. A lot of inspiration taken from your post. I never knew how much having the right mentality is needed to run well.