Losing motivation

Just starting out with Get Running? Chat about the basics of running, what clothes to wear, where to run... anything you like!
kishe_lily

Losing motivation

Post by kishe_lily »

Hi there,

I'm new to running and I started the Get Running program about two months ago, I didn't expect to be able to zoom through it, but I certainly didn't expect it to go this badly.

I originally ran week 1 twice and then moved on to week 2, which was fine for the first run, then got continually harder each run I went on. I moved back onto week 1 to try and regain my confidence, and have been stuck there ever since. To make matters worse, I missed about a week of running because of family stuff at the beginning of the month. I thought I would probably find myself back at my starting point, but instead I have just about been able to do and average 6 out of 8 of the runs, 4 being my all time worst.

All of this is making it really hard for me to keep going, as I don't only feel like I'm getting no better at running, but that I'm actually getting worse. While I wouldn't say I'm particularly fit, I walk a minimum of 5km a day with my dog every day, so I'm not coming at this from a completely sedentary starting point.

While I find the time keeping on the app really helpful, my lack of progress through the program is causing me to completely lose my motivation to keep running. Has anyone else had similar struggles? Any suggestions as to how I should keep my spirits up would be really appreciated.

Thanks.
Cantrunatall

Re: Losing motivation

Post by Cantrunatall »

Sorry to read you are not happy. I've been told that the first few minutes of each run are the hardest which kindof explains why doing lots of short runs seems tough. When they get longer absurdly they are easier and less of them which seems better.