Absolute beginner seeks reassurance fast!

Just starting out with Get Running? Chat about the basics of running, what clothes to wear, where to run... anything you like!
Thinksize12

Absolute beginner seeks reassurance fast!

Post by Thinksize12 »

Hi everyone,
Today was week 1 run 2. (I did say I am an absolute beginner!). Run 1 was a toughie - but I completed it walking and running in all the right places ... Run 2 though I anticipated would be easier ... How wrong could I be? After the first 30 seconds or running my legs felt like lead and though I pushed through and completed all 8 runs, I'm not actually sure I'll be able to stand upright tomorrow! My lovely hubbie has made me stretch to within an inch of my life ... But my question is, is this normal? When will it feel easier and please God, tell me when I'll start to look forward to my runs cos at the moment I don't think I'll ever get there!
Mandy123

Re: Absolute beginner seeks reassurance fast!

Post by Mandy123 »

The most common is week three is when it starts to get better!
NeilHughes1

Post by NeilHughes1 »

I am currently on week 5 and can say that the first few weeks are the hardest but if you stick with it, you will amaze yourself. Every week you think I can't do this but your body will adapt, I promise you.

A few weeks ago I couldnt run for a minute but now running for 20 so if a gaming couch potato like me can do it, then anyone can :)
Thinksize12

Post by Thinksize12 »

Thank you Mandy and Neil
Neil, I've just read your blog! Very entertaining. You're clearly made of sterner stuff than I am ... 5 runs a week ... Wow!
I will continue to 'dig deep' afterall, the 8 minutes of running that I did thisevening is 8 minutes more than I did in the whole of last month! Thanks guys, your encouragement is much appreciated. X
starknut

Post by starknut »