Need Advice for July 22nd 5k - in Two weeks - thanks

Finished Get Running? Tell us how you did, and chat with other Get Running graduates about what to do next!
ssdguy

Need Advice for July 22nd 5k - in Two weeks - thanks

Post by ssdguy »

I finished the Get Running app on July 8th. I ran a little over 2.5 miles (maybe 2.75) in 30 minutes. Have been cramping at the end but overall not bad.

My first 5k race is July 22nd and I'm not sure how to train for the next two weeks. How many rest days should I take before the race on Sunday?

This is my idea:

This week: run 3X (tues(TODAY),thurs,saturday) but instead running for time, run 3.0 miles so i can atleast get the distance.
Next week: run 2X (tues, thurs) but only 2.0 miles. I'll rest Friday and Saturday, then race Sunday.

How does that sound? I'm new to the long distance running so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Carlos_wsop

Re: Need Advice for July 22nd 5k - in Two weeks - thanks

Post by Carlos_wsop »