Day 3 Running in Vibram 5 fingers shoes

Just starting out with Get Running? Chat about the basics of running, what clothes to wear, where to run... anything you like!
Sg318320

Day 3 Running in Vibram 5 fingers shoes

Post by Sg318320 »

Today was my second day running in vibram 5 finger shoes. I am new to barefoot running and trying to slowly adjust. I noticed while running that my body felt more relaxed. I have sciatica and when I run in regular running sneakers I tend to heel strike causing pain in my leg and back. When I was running in my 5fingers, I wasn't heel striking. I did not experienced any pain in my back while running these two days:) Because I wasn't having pain in my back, I enjoyed running today:) My calfs are sore but this is normal when new to vibrams. A good stretch does the trick. I need to also work on my breathing. I get a side stitch because I don't know how to regulate my breathing. I try to breath correctly but i just can't get a rhythm yet. Hope fully I can figure this out and regulate my breathing.
starknut

Re: Day 3 Running in Vibram 5 fingers shoes

Post by starknut »

Awesome, another Vibrams user! My husband introduced me to barefoot running, and I love it! It's true there's a bit of an adjustment period: your gait changes when there's no support/padding, and your muscles will definitely feel it until you're more used to it. It really made my shin splints flare up, but I feel great now and it actually bothers me more to run in regular shoes now.

Stick with it, you will find your "groove!" Best of luck.
Sg318320

Post by Sg318320 »

Thanks starknut. I just started week two/day 4 running in my vibrams. Starting to feel slight shin splints, but rest should help. Can't wait to run again tomorrow:)!!
Madline

Post by Madline »